Twas the night before Christmas…

January 2, 2009

While I was enjoying a very relaxing and utterly non-work related couple of weeks in America with my family, and consequently completely ignoring my blog, I managed to increase my readership by nearly 3,000%.   Yes, you read right.  3,000%.  Imagine my surprise when I checked into the statistics section of my blog and realised that my usual daily readership – somewhere between 50 and 150 people – had increased to 700.  And the even greater surprise when I checked back today on 1 January and found that 3,800 people had looked at my blog on December 24th.

Now that I’ve revealed the date of the peak readership, it might become obvious why some many otherwise uninterested people suddenly flocked to the Interdependence Complex: the picture of Santa I used on December 13th became one of the most popular images picked up from Google Image searches for “Santa Claus.”  I too had initially picked up the picture from another blog, but because I posted the picture early in December, before the rush for Santa-related photos began, my blog apparently became THE source for pictures of Santa Claus.  

Additionally, hundreds of children posted responses in the comment section of the blog telling me what they wanted for Christmas (or in the case of one, telling me what her little brother wanted for Christmas as he was too little to send Santa an email).  Modern kids, no doubt.  Many of them I have deleted, but there is still a sampling here to check out.

In any case, an interesting lesson in globalisation and blog readership: you can write all you want trying to explain why the world functions the way it does but if you really want the world to take note of your blog, post a picture of Santa.  Perhaps in the process I’ve gained a few new readers.  But more likely I’ve lost some: namely the kids who asked me for things for Christmas that I failed to deliver.

4 Responses to “Twas the night before Christmas…”

  1. Kathryn said

    How hilarious. I love the girl who wanted to make sure Santa knew she was staying at her grandma’s house.

    Ah, the vagaries of the internet. One link to my website from a popular music blog popped me to the very top of a google search, though you used to have to type “Kathryn Mueller soprano” or wade through a bunch of other Kathryn Muellers to find my site. So, enjoy your fame!

  2. Hayley said

    I love the idea of you being solely responsible for the disappointment of 3000 children at christmas. Ho ho ho!

  3. […] 13, 2009 I am just back from my long winter’s nap; the Lent Term at LSE started yesterday and though I’ve been back working for a while, it […]

  4. PC Games said

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    With thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

